Review: The Story of Easter by Juliet David and Steve Whitlow

This lovely board book of the Easter story gently tells us about Jesus as he rides into Jerusalem on a donkey, shares a meal with his disciples and is betrayed by one of them before facing Pilate and the crowds who condemn him to crucifixion. The story ends with the resurrection and the thought that this is why we celebrate Easter each year.

I think my favourite thing about this book are the illustrations. They’re very soft and sweet, with teeny tiny animals peeping out here and there, and small, round-faced people with very basic, yet expressive, faces. They’re instantly appealing, and depict the scenes in a way that is very easy to understand alongside the text. I read the book through once to my four year old and she immediately then pretended to ‘read’ it to me and was able to recall, just by looking at the pictures, what was happening and so able to tell me the story which is a definite sign to me that it’s a well designed book!

Read the rest of my review for The Bookbag.

Leave a Reply

