Review: The Double Comfort Safari Club by Alexander McCall Smith

Whilst I am always on a mission to ensure that anyone who has yet to read one of these books goes away to try one immediately, I have come to realise that they’re not everyone’s cup of tea.  I love them.  I have loved them from the first moment I discovered them, and they never disappoint me.  I feel safe when I read them.  I feel happy.  I feel optimistic.  And those are very important feelings to have not just when you’re reading but in life generally.
This latest in the series didn’t disappoint me.  I can understand others frustrations and their claims of the stories being slow, or always the same, or full of little trivialities, but that’s sort of why I love them.  All my favourite things crop up here – Mr JLB Maketoni continues in his ponderings, and his gentle love of Mma Ramotswe, Mma Makutsi finds her shoes are talking to her again, Mma Ramotswe and Mma Makutsi have a discussion about the usage of their teapots…Alexander McCall Smith makes shrewd observations about people, their thought processes, motivations, loves and fears.  There is a gentle humour lurking behind everything he says, and also that ability to see the best in people and situations.
Looking forward to the next one…

Leave a Reply

